KNOWLE LOCAL HISTORY SOCIETY
In medieval times Kenilworth Road was far more significant than Warwick Road: it led to Kenilworth Castle, which was a royal castle, and also to Coventry. There would have been traffic between Knowle and Coventry, which was a major city with powerful trade guilds. The family of Walter Cook (the founder of Knowle Church) is known to have had connections with Coventry.
The medieval village developed along Kenilworth Road, particularly in the area between
Kixley Lane and the Manor House, which is known as Golden End. However, nothing
from this period which pre-
Some of Knowle’s oldest buildings, dating from the 16th/17th centuries, can still be found here, including a picturesque row of timbered cottages with long gardens. There are signs of ridge and furrow cultivation in a field at the rear of Cook Close. Nearer The Square, between the church and Kixley Lane, the present buildings are late Victorian. For a time, until about 1871, both High Street and Kenilworth Road were called simply Knowle Street. Further along, Kenilworth Road used to be called Knowle Hall Lane.
Left: Mr.Robbins on Landers’ milk cart in Kenilworth Road.
Above: Golden End Cottages, 2008.
|The Guild House|
|The Red Lion|
|Paterson Court (Old School)|
|Milverton Farm (Petrol Station)|
|Kixley Lane Cottages|
|Far End & The Cottage|
|Milverton House & Milverton Crescent|
|Berrow Cottage Homes|
|Knowle Library (Chester House)|
|Greswolde Arms Hotel|
|Grimshaw Hall 1560 - 1765|
|Grimshaw Hall After 1765|
|Malthouse Row (Nos 19 to 25)|
|The Wilson Arms|
|Knowle Lodge (Knowle Surgery)|
|The Olde House|
|Knowle Picture Playhouse (Johnsons Cars)|