KNOWLE LOCAL HISTORY SOCIETY
KIXLEY LANE AND ELVERS GREEN
Kixley Lane runs from Golden End in Kenilworth Road to just beyond the canal. The name is ancient: a field called Kixley Meadow was recorded as early as 1327 and still appeared on 19th century maps. The lane once continued to Elvers Green Lane, but was divided by the canal in 1799 and then closed off at the enclosures in 1820. As a result only a stone’s throw from the village centre, Knowle still has a delightful country lane which has effectively become part of the footpath network. It peters out into a field path beyond a picturesque canal bridge which leads to Elvers Green Lane, where the ford across the River Blythe has provided a playground for Knowle children for generations.
Before the church was built villagers had to go to the parish church at Hampton-
A short way along on the left is the National Trust Children’s Field, donated by the village in 1910. Beyond is Knowle Church of England Primary School, a row of attractive former council houses built between the wars and Yew Tree Farm. At the end of the lane is a private house called Far End, which for a short time was a canal pub called the Kixley Tavern. A little further along is The Cottage; beyond the bridge is Kixley Farm and a field spring where a watercress patch still thrives.
Kixley Lane, where the road narrows, 2007.
Kixley Lane beyond the bridge, 1983
|The Guild House|
|The Red Lion|
|Paterson Court (Old School)|
|Milverton Farm (Petrol Station)|
|Kixley Lane Cottages|
|Far End & The Cottage|
|Milverton House & Milverton Crescent|
|Berrow Cottage Homes|
|Knowle Library (Chester House)|
|Greswolde Arms Hotel|
|Grimshaw Hall 1560 - 1765|
|Grimshaw Hall After 1765|
|Malthouse Row (Nos 19 to 25)|
|The Wilson Arms|
|Knowle Lodge (Knowle Surgery)|
|The Olde House|
|Knowle Picture Playhouse (Johnsons Cars)|